Mixed

On computer-jobs-only job site I search, I noticed a good spike in the number of jobs posted, especially in the last day, especially with “immediate need” in the title. I also was emailed by a company today who is looking for short-term programmers to help with some things at the CDC in the aftermath of Katrina. I talked to Mom, and she said:

I was wondering this morning if the hurricane recovery could spell more work for computer people. They were saying that recovering all of the lost records could overwhelm current capabilities.

So Katrina’s giving me some mixed feelings. I’ll put it this way:
Possibility of $$ in my pocket == good
Displaced and dead people == bad

In other news, I’m waiting at the apartment today for the maintenance man to come and take away our carnivorous washer and dryer.

Leave a Reply

