Baking

Driving around Saturday, we saw a local group selling pumpkins to raise money for their group. I think it was a touchdown club or something, but I wanted a pumpkin. We picked out a nice round one, hoping it had lots of seeds. And it did. And they are good; I’m enjoying them right now. Unfortunately, the rind was just too darn think to make a decent face, so instead of letting it rot on the porch, I’m cooking with it. Armed with my old version of Joy of Cooking and a pound of butter, I’ve got recipies for pumpkin pie, a curried stew with pumpkin, pumpkin bread, and if there’s any left, I’ll make some muffins. Taste-testers are welcome.

Comments:

  1. Wendy Says:
    October 25th, 2005 at 20:09 mmmmmmm, pumpkin seeds.

    I’m glad your site is back. I thought the world was ending or something.

  2. Palila Says:
    October 26th, 2005 at 11:05 They were tasty. And now I wish I had more.

    I thought so too! But it didn’t. Though when I complained, they did notice that they hadn’t charged me for the last 6 months of service. Boo.

Leave a Reply

