What do you do with a depressed pony?

You give it a little girl!

The first three days at work… well, the first day, almost everybody was in a meeting with a client or interviewing a canidate, so I didn’t have much to do. I did help with some of the marketing/branding that we’re doing. That was fun. Day #2 involved looking at the code for the last project, most of which we (meaning: the Head Programmer and I) are making into a template for future projects for the same client, to have consistent look and feel in all parts of the program, and working some more on those marketing points, copy, and such. Today… almost an all-day meeting about today’s deliverable, a timeline of our suggested plan. It’s amazing: we talk to each other, bounce ideas, discuss ideas, and everyone’s invited to the entire meeting. I might have started a little shy, working with new people, but the CEO’s still apologizing for cussing when I could hear.

Other things I love so far:

  • With 8 girls and 4 boys, I’m no longer the only female in the group.
  • Showing up at 9:30 is still showing up early. Most people don’t arrive until around 10. The first day, I aimed for 8:15, and when I arrived, there were no cars in the parking lot.
  • A large jar of candy that gets passed around afer meals, during meetings…
  • My computer arrives Monday. Not a Mac, for code-sharing and development reasons, but I’m more than ok with it. It’s going to be the most powerful one in the office. (Which also kind of scares me; I can’t imagine making anything that would use up that much processor, let alone two of them, unless I’m also getting some of the graphic work. Then it’s not so bad.)
  • Though the programming and information design isn’t on the “creative” side, everyone’s still very creative, alive, and has lots of their own personality. It’s a big family that likes each other.
  • Everyone knows “what’s going on”
  • We do some really cool stuff with immediate application.
  • We get paid, because we’re bring in actual contracts.

Comments:

  1. Sid Says:
    November 5th, 2005 at 0:29 Wow, sounds like a great job! That’s so cool!!!!!!-S
  2. Wendy Says:
    November 7th, 2005 at 0:19 You’re getting paid? What????:)
  3. Wendy Says:
    November 7th, 2005 at 0:19 You’re getting paid? What????:)
  4. Palila Says:
    November 11th, 2005 at 18:49 I know! isn’t it exciting? I had to set up direct deposit and everything.
2 thoughts on “What do you do with a depressed pony?

  1. Ha! Funny! Just re-found this post and, wouldn’t you know it, we stopped getting paid and then I quit. The quitting happened much faster after the “we can’t pay you anymore” speech than last time, though. Also, that computer… the other developer took, because I happened to be eating when it arrived. Should have recognized the company stealing from me at the start.

Leave a Reply

