To work in second

I really enjoy having a reverse commute. The traffic is usually very light when I go to and from work during rush hours, when nobody’s had a chance to get home or to work and then leave again. But today it took me longer than usual because drivers in the ATL totally forget how to drive when it rains. Not that it was actually raining when I was driving, the roads were just wet. I’m interested to see how tomorrow’s commute goes, because the National Weather Service has issued a “Winter Weather Statement“, which reminds us that “Those with agricultural interests in the watch area should make preparations to protect vegetation and Young[sic] trees.” I’m not sure who Young trees belong to, but if you have some, please protect them.

Comments:

  1. Spuddo Says:
    November 16th, 2005 at 22:24 If you think it’s bad now, wait till that snow stuff falls from the sky. All hell will break loose. A few inches will shut down small towns.
  2. TCB Says:
    November 16th, 2005 at 22:36 Fractions of an inch of the white stuff shut down the ATL. Ice is even more fun. I won’t even bother driving anywhere on those days. I might go to my classes if I can walk to the train station. I’ve also heard that the ATL has had several nice winters in a row. Looks like we might be in line for a really bad one this year.
  3. TCB Says:
    November 16th, 2005 at 22:37 Fractions of an inch of the white stuff shut down the ATL. Ice is even more fun. I won’t even bother driving anywhere on those days. I might go to my classes if I can walk to the train station. I’ve also heard that the ATL has had several nice winters in a row. Looks like we might be in line for a really bad one this year.
  4. Spuddo Says:
    November 16th, 2005 at 22:37 Were you having problems posting, too? heh
  5. TCB Says:
    November 17th, 2005 at 20:21 Um, yeah, I’m glad I didn’t hit it like 5 times like the spaz I tend to be.
  6. Palila Says:
    November 17th, 2005 at 20:37 Ok, so I upgraded WordPress, like I should have done a while ago, and upgraded the spam moderator (It’s been disabled the last few days.) Hopefully, these should fix both the comment problem and the funky rss feeds.

    Also, driving home from work and never getting out of second sucks when it takes 45 minutes to get home instead of the 15 minutes it usually takes.

  7. Spuddo Says:
    November 17th, 2005 at 20:54 You’re lucky. It takes us a half hour to get to work in the morning, and upwards of 45-50 minutes to get back. I moved almost 60 miles to work, and I shaved a half hour off my commute in the afternoon.
  8. ghani Says:
    November 21st, 2005 at 8:28 This is making me happy that I walk to work, even if it does mean walking in the baltic scottish winter. It’s a 15-minute walk to the new job, and i even get to wear my new wellies!
  9. Palila Says:
    November 25th, 2005 at 0:34 Ooh! Any job that requires fun new shoes is a fabulous job!
  10. Wendy Says:
    December 9th, 2005 at 1:58 As for the rain problem, I don’t think there’s any hope. I live in Portland, where it rains about 20 days a month, and people still don’t know how to drive in the rain. If they can’t do it here, there’s no hope for Atlanta. Sorry.

    Also, I walk to school, and I think I have an excuse to buy new shoes now.

Leave a Reply

