Letting go

My faithful car, the ‘89 Acura Legend, is leaving today. After so many years of service, it’s leaving the family and being donated. I’m a little sad about it- I’m going to miss the great V6 engine with power across the band and I’m going to miss the little conveniences and habits of the car, like the cruise control buttons on the steering wheel, the lock button, the way that all the doors lock when I lock the driver’s door, the easy access to volume and radio controls near the sttering wheel, they way that all the radio buttons were within reach and that I didn’t have to look to press the correct button. I’m going to miss the comfy seat, the auto-set of the radio buttons, the armrest, the neat DDD sticker in the back window, the large trunk and backseat and the feeling of driving such a solid car. I don’t particularly care for the car I’m driving now (’99 Mazda Protege); it’s too much of a Ford, accelerates kind of like a brick, and will get blown out of its lane by a passing semi because of how light it is. This does mean that I’ll be shopping for a new car sooner than later, but it’s going to be hard to find an acceptable replacement to the Acura.

Comments:

  1. mark Says:
    January 6th, 2006 at 10:52 hilarious sideline related articles. well done!
  2. Spuddo Says:
    January 6th, 2006 at 11:56 Get a Bonneville, mid 90’s, with the eye-shaped tail lights, and not the stupid strip across the back. They’re awesome.
  3. Palila Says:
    January 8th, 2006 at 4:08 You are always welcome to drive my Acura while I am in Hawaii (It’s my ride when I am home).
  4. george Says:
    January 8th, 2006 at 4:12 I don’t know why my comment posted as your comment. MY Acura is the one you can drive.
  5. Palila Says:
    January 9th, 2006 at 11:10 Thank you for the offer, George, but I think I’ll pass. I’m going to start shopping for a new car in the next few months to help me get over this new hole in my life. No offense, but your car doesn’t have much power in the 0-55 range, and that’s where I need it on I-285.

    Didn’t Uncle Bob have a Bonneville like that?

  6. George Says:
    January 10th, 2006 at 1:09 Yeah. I was on my way to Ashville once and I was going 51 or 52 in a 50 because that is where I wasn’t killing my engine. A cop pull out in front of me and makes me drop to 48. I went up to 4500 rpms, so I got beside and sped up to pass. He sped up, so I got back over and the cycle continued. He wouldn’t let me pass and stayed ataround 48 whe he was in front. Just at the switching point on my gears. The bastard.
  7. George Says:
    January 10th, 2006 at 1:10 I don’t know, but I would drive Grandpa’s new Impala if I had the choice of family cars!
  8. Spuddo Says:
    January 10th, 2006 at 1:12 If you would like the Bonneville, you can pick it up from the Super 8 Motel in Plainfield, IN. You’ll have to get it started first, though. Dammit.
  9. Palila Says:
    January 12th, 2006 at 15:39 Poor Potato car.

    What were you doing at the Super 8?

  10. rhiannon Says:
    January 15th, 2006 at 10:17 Your uncle bob did indeed have a bonneville like that. Actually, it was granny’s…otherwise known as your aunt jean, i suppose. It was later given to our collective cousin j-me, who decorated it with millions of stickers… but granny didn’t care, because granny was cool.
  11. Palila Says:
    January 18th, 2006 at 21:03 That sounds like an interesting art project: stickering a car. Does j-me still have it? Did he take pictures?

    I don’t know what I called Jean. I don’t know that I ever called her anything in particular. Uncle Bob was always Uncle Bob (because that’s what Dad called him), but Aunt Jean never had a particular name. She was pretty cool, though. I loved the way she talked about Duke. It was just.. magical.

  12. rhiannon Says:
    February 16th, 2006 at 14:51 I don’t think he still has it. And actually, i was thinking about it later, but my granny and grandpa had TWO bonnevilles. The first one is the one that j-me got. the second one they sold when grandpa was no longer able to drive.

    Your grandmother was always Aunt Faye. I never knew your grandfather…so he’s always been my grandpa’s brother.

  13. Palila Says:
    February 16th, 2006 at 21:05 We called them Amma and Happy, I’m not sure why, but legend has it I named them that (because Amma said she wasn’t old enough to be “memaw”)
Leave a Reply

