Good boy

Angus and I took a trip to PetsMart yesterday, to replace the squirrel, duck, rope, rope/tennis ball combo, snowman and other assorted toys that are already or soon to be too far gone to survive through seam surgery. And since he’d been so good, finding the appoitment book the day before, I thought I’d get him an extra toy. We walked up and down the toy aisle and he wasn’t interested in anything. I finally just picked out some replacements: another rope/tennis ball combo, a snowman-like toy, a canvas squeaky toy, and a kong bone thing for him to play with during the day (still smells like nasty rubber to me, he thinks it stinks in a bad way.) But… he wasn’t really interested in anything except worrying about the other dogs in the store. Until we walked down the bone/things to eat aisle. There, he practically stuck his nose in the calf hoof bin to take one out. I bought it, and he’s been happily chewing away on that foul-smelling hoof since.

(Also, I don’t think he likes peanut butter. I tried giving him some, and he avoided it. Did you know about this, TCB?)

Comments:

  1. Ash Says:
    May 9th, 2006 at 6:48 My dog loved peanut butter until he ate too much and got sick, now he hates it.Chief also LOVES those kong things. Peanut Butter can be messy, but try shoving a dog biscuit or 2 in there. It keeps Chief entertained for 5-10 minutes or so.
  2. rhiannon Says:
    May 9th, 2006 at 7:18 My dad sprays easy cheese in Cinder’s.also, the dog i had in college, aspen, LOVED pigs ears. He was the kindest gentlest dog in the whole world, but when i tried to teased him abut taking his pig ear away, he tried to eat me.
  3. mark Says:
    May 9th, 2006 at 10:47 oh god those things stink :-/
  4. Palila Says:
    May 9th, 2006 at 13:40 It’s nopt one of the usual kongs, it’s one that’s shaped like a bone with holes through the ends of it. I’m going to run it through the dishwasher to get rid of some of the nasty rubber smell, and then I’m going to try the easy cheese. The buscuits we have just don’t *quite* fit in it; I put one in and then even I couldn’t get it out!
  5. George Says:
    May 11th, 2006 at 23:10 The peanut butter could be a learned thing for angus. Some dogs have a hard time eating it and stay away from it.
Leave a Reply

