Small

Small

We took dinner tonight to some friends that recently had a baby. I think we both felt pretty honored to be the first non-family members over to see Emma, and her mom and dad sure seemed like they needed some tasty, homemade food, since we thought (correctly) that they’d be running on very little sleep and cooking would be one of the last things on their mind. It was a short visit; she was fussy and will be getting her first bath this evening, but I was surprised at just how small a new baby is. I mean, I’ve seen the pictures of the doctors holding them up, and the newborns all wrapped up in blankets, but it’s a little hard to gauge just how big a 7-lb person is. They’re very tiny! Tiny like… if I filled a sack the size of my running shoe with beans and added legs and arms, or somehow compressed a sack of flour and added legs and a head and little tiny fingers!

Still, no matter how small she seems to me out here, I can only imagine her as huge before being born.

Comments:

  1. rhiannon Says:
    January 4th, 2007 at 22:41 I was thinking the same thing when I looked at those pictures. “wow, she’s so small!” and then “but imagine where that thing COMES OUT!”
  2. Palila Says:
    January 4th, 2007 at 23:57 Exactly!
  3. Mom Says:
    January 5th, 2007 at 1:17 You were just such a little bundle when you were born. In no time at all you grew and grew.
  4. Mom Says:
    January 5th, 2007 at 1:20 Cute baby! I saw the picture on your favorites. She’s a keeper.
  5. Palila Says:
    January 5th, 2007 at 15:23 Do babies have a return policy?
Leave a Reply

