“Application”

Application

At the company holiday party, I talked at great length to whoever would listen, and my topic for the night seemed to be getting my Master’s degree. I talked and talked and talked, and the wife of a co-worker listened, and I hear that she decided to apply! And I was secretly pissed. “How dare she apply to my school, I found it first! She wouldn’t even be doing this if I hadn’t told her about it! What a bitch, taking my imaginary, non-existent spot in the program!” And then I felt bad and went out to lunch with my co-worker to confirm the rumors about his wife applying to my program.

So.

I’m re-applying to grad school: same school, slightly different program. Instead of IDT (now Graphic Media), I’m applying to the HCI program through the school of Language, Communication and Culture. I figured that If I don’t apply, I’ll be pissed if my co-worker’s wife gets in and I’ll spend the year fuming about something I do anything about. If I’m not accepted, I also won’t spend the year thinking about what I might be learning in the program, because that wouldn’t have been an option, but if I am accepted, then Whoo! TCB and I could potentially graduate at the same time, I’ll have accomplished this thing, and it’ll be done. If I defer a year, then I’m still in control and won’t be mooning over something that still may or may not happen. I’ve talked to my boss, she’s excited and supportive; my personal statement is finished and my portfolio is started. I’m waiting to see what, if any, work samples I can use from work, but I think I’ve got a decent collection of other materials and can finish that before the February 1st deadline. What’s holding me up?

I only have 2 out of three references lined up. I just need one more! Just one more person who can write about me from a professional/ educational view, and can talk about things like “how I work” and “how I learn.” It’s holding up the whole process: I need to have those references finalized before I can send in the application, and then Tech sends out the information about how to complete the reference to the people who I’ve named. Any volunteers?

Comments:

  1. mark Says:
    January 23rd, 2007 at 19:50 good luck!!!
  2. Mom Says:
    January 23rd, 2007 at 19:56 I would love to write you a letter because I think you’re the tops. Know anyone from the old Fusion project who is articulate? Sorority folks? I would guess that Dottie would be able to write a letter though she hasn’t seen your work as a programmer.
  3. Palila Says:
    January 24th, 2007 at 21:52 Hmm… I’m not sure. I think the sorority folks would be best used to write letters of recommendation for the sorority scholarships, and Dottie would be wonderful!

Leave a comment