Hm.

I keep thinking, “now that comment numbers are working, I should post something that’s worth commenting on!” But then I sit at the computer and can’t think of a good, coherent thought. I don’t know, I’m just really not feeling like blogging, or even taking pictures. I could write about how Angus doesn’t like beer but has just discovered that he really likes champagne. I could write about the joys of our new sink faucet (The sprayer is pressure-sensitive! The neck of the faucet allows large pots and the Brita pitcher to fit under it easily, even with the faucet-mount water filter! It twists to get completely out of the way!) I could also write about having a compost bin and the amount of trash that composting has reduced (lots), or that the veggies I planted are growing like crazy (it’s time to transplant the peas), or that our roses (now aphid-free) are starting to bloom and have also grown like crazy. Mom and Christel showed me how to cut them back for the winter, and, though we cut them pretty far back, some bushes to just a sad-looking stick, they’re all full and nearly as big as they were at the end of the season last year. Fortunately, the yard-side of the bushes filled out a little more than the driveway-side, so they’re not quite the attack bushes that they were before.

I guess I do have plenty to write about the yard.

The dogwood in front of our house is blooming, and it’s gorgeous. It’s nice to look out of the office window and see nothing but flowers, and it’s really nice when the sun goes down and the white flowers stand out against the sky, lit by the full moon. When we cut the enormous butterfly bush back down to nearly nothing, we discovered that it was hiding two more rose bushes. I’m pleased to announce that all three plants are making a comeback. In addition to a 2-part compost bin, we have a small veggie garden with carrots and bell peppers, a large pot with basil and a tomato plant (blooming!), and peas and more basil added to the little herb garden that was already here (of fennel and thyme). I’m looking forward to summer, when the day lillies will come up in the front yard and when the bulb I planted in back should be up. Right now, we’ve got a bunch of weeds, more raking and planting some grass to tend to.

Comments:

  1. TCB Says:
    April 2nd, 2007 at 16:14 Well, I just raked another big section in the back yard. I got a new blister under my old blister. I think the back yard is now done’ish. I also mowed front and back after working on the blades of our lawn mower. If I had money, I would have bought a new “real” lawn mower today.
  2. rhiannon Says:
    April 2nd, 2007 at 18:57 i want to plant a garden. but for right now i’m nervous even putting my aloe plant out on the porch, because i have to remember to bring it back in before the temps get below freezing again.
  3. Palila Says:
    April 3rd, 2007 at 13:47 Hooray, backyard! Did sharpening the blades of the (non-electric, human-powered) mower make any difference?Poor aloe plant. It should move to the ATL.
  4. TCB Says:
    April 3rd, 2007 at 18:36 Nope. The flapper things still push the grass over under the cutter and not into the cutter if it isn’t going the right direction.
  5. Mom Says:
    April 4th, 2007 at 16:12 And now you have a lot to write about.
  6. Palila Says:
    April 5th, 2007 at 12:45 A little too much!
Leave a Reply

