Recipes

Tonight for dinner, I tried a recipe out of Grandma Harper’s Panhellenic Cookbook: Meats. I had originally started looking at the “Ground Beef and Pasta” dishes, and really wanted to try some that Erna had marked as “//good”, but we didn’t have all the ingredients. We did, however, have all the ingredients (including our garden) all the ingredients for “Hamburger and Pepper Casserole.” It was very tasty and easy. Saute green pepper (and onion), add beef and brown (I actually reversed this, nearly browning the beef first, then adding the green pepper after while the beef finished.) Then add 3.5 cups of canned tomatoes (the recipe doesn’t specify more than this, so I used a large can of diced tomatoes, plus a cup of water), herbs (basil, black pepper and salt;  I also added some paprika and marjoram) and 1/2 cup rice (I used nearly a full cup to balance the extra water I added.) Simmer for 25 minutes, then top with cheese and continue simmering until cheese is melted.

It was full of yum. After a few more tries, including following the recipe exactly, I’ll be ready to add my own “//good” to this one.

One thought on “Recipes

  1. I think you did it the better way. Sauteing the peppers after the meat means they are not overcooked and still sort of crunchy and flavorful. In older days, we cooked vegetables until they were a memory. Whole canned tomatoes will also work if you squish them up with your hands as you put them in. I think you have a “new” recipe.

Leave a Reply

