Thinking it over

I’m still not sure what I want to do when I grow up. Once TCB graduates, the plan is for me to figure it out. I mean, programming’s ok, I do like learning new languages and techniques, and working on complicated problems, but I’m not really that much of a fan of working in front of a computer all day, every day. I’m ok working with other people, but the introvert in me can’t do it every day and after a day of it, I feel the need to withdraw and, then, sitting in front of a computer is fine- as long as I don’t have to talk to anybody and can just concentrate on what I’m doing. I always love to fly. That, I know I could do all day, every day.

Last week, I went on-site at a client’s workspace and did a photoshoot around the facilities for a course we’re building. Loved it. I also loved that I got to work at home to process the photos: working in a warm, comfortable environment in flannel pants next to TCB with music going… It was a lovely afternoon. Plus, I didn’t have to fight traffic to get home to run before dark. The next day, at the office, coworkers commented on how happy I seemed. (Happiness that was replaced shortly with frustration and then anger after my computer, Captivate and the remote system I was working on decided that they alternately wanted to crash.)

Not that I necessarily want to shoot all the time, but that was a working feeling that I really liked. I’ve enjoyed the weekend days where I’ve gone on a photostroll, then curled up and sorted the photos until dinner, and this was the first time that it was my real jorb, if for a day. And it definitely gives me another path to think about.

3 thoughts on “Thinking it over

  1. When you figure out what it is you want to be when you grow up, let me know. I’ve been looking for ideas for a while now and haven’t come up with anything solid.

Leave a Reply

