Combinations

Tonight, I wanted to use the kielbasa we’d thawed, but didn’t want to go to out usual “kielbasa with peppers and tomatoes over pasta” dish. (though it’s very tasty.) And I’ve been jonesing to try out my dollar-store mandoline, hoping that it would do better than the dollar-store-ness implied.
After much searching, I decided to combine these two recipes:
Microwave potato dish
Baked potato dish

Unfortunately, the mandoline performed as I expected: uneven paper-thin pieces of potatoes when it cut at all.

My recipe:

  • 3 potatoes, sliced thinly (enough to fill my casserole dish after the other ingredients)
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 small green pepepr, coarsely chopped
  • 1 lb turkey kielbasa, cut into thinnish rounds
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1-1.5 cups of milk (I splooshed some extra in after the sour cream didn’t quite fill the cup)
  • pepper, aleppo pepper, herbs as desired
  • 1/3-2/3 cup shredded cheese

Mix the liquidy ingredients, herbs and spices together, then add the more solid ingredients to coat. Put it all in a casserole and bake, covered, for 75 minutes at 375. Uncover, sprinkle cheese on top and bake for another 15 minutes to melt the cheese (alternatively, add the cheese when mixing ingredients together, I meant to do that, but forgot until the mixing bowl was nearly empty.)

Result: Very tasty. It’s not totally attractive on top and it was also nearly gone before I thought “I should take a picture,” which is why there’s no picture. If I make it again (when I make it again), I think I’ll use real milk instead of powdered and add some charnuska in the herb mix.  Also, I’ll use smaller/fewer potatoes to make it in the same dish- it was bubbling over.

One thought on “Combinations

  1. How about baking the keilbasa on a bed of cabbage, onions and apples with a splash of sherry or apple cider, caraway seeds and pepper? or in a stew with lentils, finely chopped carrots and other stewish vegetables?

Leave a Reply

