Half-success

Tonight, I did some kickasserole experimentation. In the fridge: 1 green pepper, 1 red pepper, 1 small yellow squash, a smidge of shredded parmesan, ~1/2 lb of ground beef and some white GF bread Mom brought this past weekend.

So, I browned the beef, spiced it heavily with cajun space, added cut squash when the beef was half done, added the peppers (medium-sized pieces) when the beef was nearly done. In the casserole dish, I crumbled 2 slices of bread, added the veggies (and 2 small tomatoes from the garden), a can of Progresso creamy mushroom soup and some extra water, about half a can. Baked at 350 for 40 minutes, mostly uncovered, sprinkled the cheese on top, let it all melt.

Result: Tasty, but soggy. The veggies still had nice crunch, and the beef was good, so the problem’s not there. It was totally my bread and liquid management. I’m going to try this again, but I’m going to try toasting the bread crumbs before adding the liquid. I also don’t think I really calculated how different the full can of creamy mushroom soup is from condensed mushroom soup (all of which seem to involve wheat flour as a top ingredient), so I’m betting my additional water addition was unneccesary.

It was a nice change from my usual rice-based kickasseroles and I think that, next time, I’ll make a winner.

3 thoughts on “Half-success

  1. This combination did sound yummy. It’s fun to experiment with what’s in the fridge.

    By their composition, the squash, peppers, and tomatoes would add liquid also. Try seeding the tomatoes to help reduce moisture. I wonder is corn starch could be added to the soup to help thicken. Or maybe partially cooked pasta would soak up some liquid.

Leave a Reply

