Leftover squash

Practice Thanksgiving was Saturday night, and I tried out a butternut squash + apples casserole. It was ok, but the recipe definitely needs some tinkering before becoming a kickasserole. Not knowing how much chopped squash I’d get out of each whole squash, I got extra at YDFM and ended up with only 1 extra. Hooray! So Sunday night, not wanting turkey for every meal, I used the extra one in a colorful kickasserole: ground beef, butternut squash, garden red & yellow tomatoes, green pimento peppers from the front yard, pinto beans and dried GF bread crumbs. After the experience with mush-bread before, I made sure to toast those bread crumbs well! I also threw in some smoked paprika, sweet paprika, chili powder and dried marjoram. It all barely fit into my dish!

Result: Good and colorful, but I wasn’t expecting my pinto beans to already be spiced, almost like soup beans. I was glad that I had already added smoked paprika so the smokiness in the beans wasn’t a surprise when eating. I didn’t have much cheese, maybe a scant 1/4 cup, so I also sprinkled chopped parsley on top before serving, which was very tasty.

Butternut squash-beef casserole

  • 2 c. dry bread crumbs
  • 1/2 lb ground beef
  • 1 small butternut squash, peeled and chunked
  • 1 can beans (I used pinto beans, but would have preferred black beans, if we had them)
  • 1 can corn
  • 1-2 cans stewed tomatoes (I used 1 can + several small fresh tomatoes from the garden)
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • paprika (sweet and smoked)
  • chili powder
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4-1/2 c. water
  • herbs of choice

Optional Garnish:

  • Cheese
  • parsley

Brown ground beef, then add the sqaush, spices and water near the end of cooking, stirring to distribute the spice and herbs. Let simmer for 5 minutes, then add the pepper.

Add the mix in the pan to the casserole dish along with the drained corn, beans, bread and tomatoes. Mix well and cook for 30-40 minutes at 350F, covered.

Uncover, add any cheese desired, and bake uncovered for 5 more minutes before serving, adding fresh toppings at the last minute.

Butternut squash-beef casserole

Leave a Reply

