Lentil Surprise

Last night, I realized we had none of our usual starches in the house: no rice, no potatoes (French fries and instant mashed do not count), no quinoa. And, though I’d just been shopping, we didn’t have the components for most of our usual dishes. So, I improvised and tried out lentils, which I’ve never cooked before. I also thought it’d be a good time to use some of the chicken tenderloins that I’d accidentally purchased, since I wasn’t paying all that much attention to the chicken pieces when I was shopping and they were mixed in the on-sale chicken breasts.  I looked up some recipes, decided I didn’t have all the ingredients for any single one, and made up my own concoction from what we did have. Though I didn’t know what the end result might be, I was happy not to have to think much about it after assembling.

  • 1 small package lentils (It was around 2 cups)
  • 5 cups water
  • About 1 pound accidentally-purchased chicken tenderloins
  • 1 can diced tomatoes with garlic, in sauce
  • More garlic
  • Black pepper
  • Basil
  • Rosemary
  • ¼ cup lemon juice
  • Scant tablespoon olive oil
  • Salt, to taste

Put it all in the slow cooker on high for a few hours, until the chicken’s cooked through (plus at least 20 minutes of boiling.)

Verdict: much better than I thought it might be! It smelled wonderful while cooking and tasted great, and the chicken pieces worked really well, since they were pre-cut to be small. I think that using some stock instead of all water might have been good, but I’d make this again roughly as is for a simple, easy meal.

2 thoughts on “Lentil Surprise

  1. Kielbasa and cabbage and apples work well plus a few fennel seeds. Lentils is Indian dahl so curry is good. Also those chicken sausages. Pork chops. Great one pot meal. With a homemade bread and a slice of cheese- superb.

Leave a Reply

