Answers

  • It was over on my left side, caught in the mesentery
  • It had perforated the back of my uterus, leaving a small hole that looked like it already healed (TCB saw the pictures, I didn’t have my glasses yet with the doctor talked to me, so I’ll see them at my follow-up appointment)
  • Not sure what we were seeing on the ultrasound. The doctor had a guess, but I was still pretty fuzzy when she talked to me and I can’t remember what she said.

I also learned that it’s rare for the iud to perforate the uterus and also rare for it to totally escape and rare for it to happen months after placement. Something like 1 in 10,000 kind of rare (my doctor had never had it happen to any of her patients.) I’d also just had it checked 2 weeks prior, and it was still in the right place, so this was something that happened suddenly. Dr. F is considering writing a paper on it.

Surgery was successful- it was removed through my belly button. Did take longer than expected; my ob had to call in a general surgeon to assist, as it was caught up in the fatty layer around my intestines. The general surgeon wanted to cut another hole in my abdomen, but Dr. F insisted that it could be done through the one. So now I’ve had both an iud and my appendix removed through my belly button.

I’m home, resting up, taking things easy, not really feeling like driving yet. Mom came down on Friday to help with Lena and me, which was awesome. Dad came down Saturday. Lena loved the extra attention from her grandparents, I loved not having to worry about her (and being able to sleep). I’m glad that I had such a large stash of milk in my freezer, since I had to pump & dump for 48 hours after surgery.

And that’s about it. Other than the culture on the IUD coming back positive for staph (a week of antibiotics for me!)

3 thoughts on “Answers

  1. Hope you are feeling better soon. You really need your energy at top levels to keep up with the Lena tornado.

  2. I am very happy to know you are better. Even though you have net felt up to speed, I have really enjoyed the pictures of everyone.

Leave a Reply

