Weighty

I noticed a few months ago that my awesome post-baby weight loss was getting wiped out. My size 6 skinny-Alex pants didn’t fit, my pooch was getting poochier, and the scale said I was rapidly going back up to my pre-pre-baby numbers. Boo.

I started tracking my calories again with Calorie Counter, but it remained cumbersome to enter simple items and the mobile app was pretty laughable. Yes, I could scan the same thing every day and they still wouldn’t remember what values I’d entered for it. And those scale numbers still kept rising.
So I did a couple of things:

  • I switched to My Fitness Pal for tracking calories & exercise. Not only do they seem to have every item I can think of to scan (I’ve started scanning really random things to see if they have it in their db), but the mobile and web apps are both fairly simple and quick to use. I do wish that entering a recipe was easier.
  • I started wearing a fitbit. I debated between fitbit and Jawbone Up, but since I think this is still a developing technology, the cheaper one with the thinner wristband and feedback through the day was my choice. Plus, the wristband is an excellent size to fit under decorative cuffs that normally fall off my tiny tiny wrists.
  • I joined a DietBet. Basically, we all put in $25, and whoever loses 4% of their body weight in a month gets to split the pot. I like money and am willing to do a little lifehacking to get some more of it. Especially since it’s only for 30 days.

So far, it seems to be working. The fitbit is especially useful- I can see how sedentary I am some days. Lena likes to slap the bracelet (and exclaims, "beads!"), and has a disappoint in the morning when only one shows up. She likes more "beads" to show up, and I like knowing I haven’t been sitting on my butt all day, so I take the stairs more often at work and park a little farther away at stores. I’m not looking to get skinny-skinny, but just to get down to and maintain that weight where I think I look and feel best.

Leave a Reply

