Paris, day 1 thoughts.

  • I’m staying across from a meat shop and next to a children’s toy shop. And corner to a Starbucks. Of course.
  • When I exited the metro, after nodding off on the train, I was undure of where to go for my hotel, and maps wouldn’t load, but I caught sight of the side street’s name on the butcher’s shop awning and headed that way, like I was a pro at this. Meat (and Google street view), to the rescue!
  • Arrows to indicate "keep going this way" point down and, at CDG, they are next to stairwells that only go down from that level. I went down many stairwells trying to exit that airport.
  • I was shakey, but needed to find money and food, and walked all over to find a particular creperie, only to find it closed today (and tomorrow, because tomorrow is sunday). I was angry with the world and hungry and disappointed, and walked some more, getting lost down the side streets with many lights still up, and found some sort of creperie center. I had a gallette filled with cheeses (imagine a plate with goat cheese, roquefort, and some other kind of cheese melted on it, plus a buckwheat crepe on the plate), and a large glass of dry rose wine (the smallest they sold, but after not eating for 10 hours, it hit me fast), and some ice cream (because I was still a little shakey and light headed.)
  • Then I felt like I could take on anything.
  • So I walked around some more. I’m glad I started the walk out of the hotel by getting lost, because it helped me recognize things on the way back. It’s a very lovely city, and I’ve been finding my way around pretty easily.
  • Indiana Cafe has many kinds of tacos and bbq on the menu, but no breaded tenderloin. No pork of any kind, that I could see.
  • My seatmate on the way over was very nice. Thought it was a shame that first class wasn’t full. I barely slept. I did watch Senna, which I really enjoyed.
  • I’m tired. I need to sleep.
Leave a Reply

