Facemask for Sister

I made some facemasks for my sister, modifying a pattern based on feedback from her, from my dad, and based on the materials I have on hand.

Will it filter out covid-19? Probably not. Is it better than a bare face? Probably yes. I think? I am not an expert in this field, so whatever the professionals say is what I’d go with. https://smartairfilters.com/en/blog/best-materials-make-diy-face-mask-virus/

I gave Georgia the choice of what pattern to use, and she preferred the fitted mask (since I’m making it for her, instead of for anybody to use.) I started with this pattern:

Face Mask Sewing Pattern – 4 Sizes

From there, I made a few variations: one just as the pattern calls for, one with two layers of cotton and then a layer of flannel, and one a sandwich of cotton-flannel-cotton. This last one was the winner.

Next, in talking with my dad, I realized that I don’t have elastic on hand and I don’t know where to get any in a short amount of time. What I do have, though, is an excess of bias tape. And masks used to be tied on, he reminded me. He also had a suggestion on how to attach the bias tape, which I incorporated.

So, my method/strategy:

First, print the pattern found here: https://www.craftpassion.com/face-mask-sewing-pattern/

Next, cut 3 pieces, double layers:

  • one for the front of the mask (with the 1-inch seam allowance on the end piece, as in the original tutorial)
  • one flannel for the middle of the sandwich (normal seam allowances)
  • one for the inside of the mask (normal seam allowances)

IMG_20200321_145829

Then flip them right-sides together and sew the curved edge. Clip the curve afterward (and press the seam to a side, if you want)

IMG_20200321_150203

next, start making the sandwich. Turn the front of the mask right side out, and then layer the inside layer, then the flannel.

Stitch those together, trim the edges, and turn right side out. Press and then top stitch.

IMG_20200321_153016

Next, add the bias tape. I used at least a yard per side.

Roll it up in there, and stitch it twice down the side. I do not want this to be a point of failure.

Wash, and then wear. Improvements that could be made: adding a piece of wire into the nose piece, to improve fit (it’s fine with glasses on, but needs additional holding down if you’re not wearing any.)

IMG_20200321_133527

One thought on “Facemask for Sister

Leave a comment